When I first came to Kentucky I brought with me an old 60’s or 70’s popcorn cookbook.

We had been in Nicholasville less than a week when my sons bike was vandalised by the next door neighbor’s older son.

My little guy was trying to figure out what to do with his bike which had been deprived of both training wheels and pedals by the vandal.

I was unpacking my cookbooks when I came across the popcorn cookbook and I asked him if he would like to pick a recipe for us to make together.

He looked through it and decided upon Peanut butter and Jelly popcorn.

It was a pretty straightforward recipe and I asked him if he was sure that that is what he wanted.

He was very emphatic that he wanted PB&J popcorn.

The recipe called for a quart of popped corn. In a saucepan melt 3 Tbsp of butter and add half a cup of peanut butter. Stir until melted.

Drizzle Peanut Butter sauce over the popcorn and mix until evenly coated.

Take half a cup of your favorite jelly or jam and in a saucepan melt it over low heat with 3 Tbsp of butter.

Drizzle Jelly sauce over popcorn.

This became our favorite recipe for a quick and healthy snack.

You can put it in zip lock bags and eat it at a rest point when on a long bike ride.
fromourkitchen10-05_large.jpg

We never did find the parts of the bike that went missing. After a while the bike disappeared entirely. It was under a grand and not enough to warrant interest from the police in issuing a citation. My son was gifted a new bicycle that christmas and he rode that bike for a brief time. The roads we lived on, though residential, were filled with fast moving vehicles and it wasn’t uncommon for residents to speed through the neighborhood. Good old boys just having some fun.

 

Leave a Reply

